Cafe – Toronto Edition

So as I was back for the holidays, of course I used this opportunity to hit up as many cafes as I could. Although I didn’t visit that many thus far, I had already fell in love with two of them:

Early Bird Espresso

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with a6 preset  Processed with VSCOcam with kk1 preset

Obviously I had come to Toronto and immediately looked up some promising cafes. I had set my sights on this one as a study destination after seeing one of my friends post a picture on Instagram. At the time, I had no idea where the “hot spots” were. But upon going to several locations, this is probably my number one favourite spot. They have quite a bit of seating, though the cafe is quite busy and popular at most times (that I’ve visited anyway). I love the big communal table right at the front, and people are usually quite friendly.

Their coffee is pretty much the best balance between acidity and earthiness that I tend to like (I veer more on the earthiness than very acidic roasts). If you order their flat white, they present it beautifully on this geometric plate. The milk is steamed to a smooth texture, and bubbles appear on the top about 30 seconds to 1 minute after you’re served. They have quite a few snacks to select from (lots of cookies, some cakes), though I’ve not tried any yet.

The location is definitely a little awkward for me, being someone who does not live downtown. However, it is definitely easily accessed by local transit (right near the Queen West streetcar). There are a few restaurants around, but I haven’t been able to explore this area yet.

Boxcar Social

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset 2014-12-31 11.55.33

A bar at night, this very masculine, industrial looking bar has their furniture custom made by JM&Sons. There is plenty of seating upstairs (from my guess, this used to be a house), so you never have to worry about being unable to find a spot.

I loved the friendliness of the baristas. It’s easy to tell they really just enjoy making coffee and meeting new people. The clientele seems to be from teenagers to elderly, which is great because you get all kinds of conversations going on. Due to its vicinity to Summerhill station, there’s also many restaurants nearby, and is quite easy to get to.

 

I can’t wait to get back to Toronto and visit these favourite spots of mine. It might be until summer that I can try out new locations, but I’m quite content with these two that I’ve discovered over the break 🙂

~ kehwon

Leave a Reply

