Le Vieux Velo – Mile End

A while back, tfung came to visit me in Montreal. Needless to say, we went to eat at different locations all over the city. Since Mtl is known for brunches, I decided to look up a place where we could go to. This was the joint that I found, and I have to say, it seemed extremely far at the time, but since I had planned my work well, I had the whole weekend free with tfung.

After the brief walk from the bus stop, I was super excited because the scenery had transitioned from sketchy industrial area to hipster lofts and cute cafes. We walked in and got a seat right away.

Le Vieux Velo is a small restaurant that specializes in Eggs Benedict. Obviously we went for just that.

18265_10152244941730431_148639468_n

I got l’Atlantique, which was topped with smoked salmon and capers. tfung got the Florentine, with ham and spinach. Both came with home-cooked potato wedges, and topped off with their secret recipe Hollandaise sauce.

599014_10152244941980431_1987060329_n

This was probably the best eggs benedict I’d had to this date. The sauce (which I don’t even want to think about how much butter was used) was absolutely amazing. It was so smooth, full of flavour, creamy and doesn’t leave your mouth with that fat-feeling.

In terms of the two different dishes, I liked the Florentine more. The smoked salmon didn’t do much in terms of texture, and the taste didn’t go too well with the eggs, in my opinion. The capers were just a burst of saltiness from time to time and was annoying to keep on the fork.

For the florentine, the ham was chewy enough, and the spinach added that leafy green texture, working very well with the gooey center of the yolk and the creaminess of the hollandaise sauce.

The muffins were quite good. They were lightly toasted to add a slight crunch, but still retained the softness, so it is not too difficult to cut or to chew. There were many times that I had eggs benedict where each bite I was left chewing a tough muffin.

The potato wedges were done very well, and tfung really liked them. He loved the crunch on the outside and the seasoning. It had a slight spiciness to it (black pepper), and wasn’t too salty. The inside of the wedges were piping hot, indicative of it being fresh off the pan.

Overall I love this brunch place. Although it’s a little far, I don’t mind going on a fairly nice day. You do have to wait if you go during the Sunday brunch time, but I usually can avoid it. Their eggs benedict are a must if you do pay them a visit. But I haven’t tried any other dishes on their menu, and to be honest, I feel like I can’t deviate from their benedicts.

Service: 3.5/5
Food: 8.7/10
Atmosphere: hipster, diner, wooden furniture
Price: $15-20

Le Vieux Velo on Urbanspoon

~ kehwon

Leave a Reply

