Icehouse – Plateau Mont-Royal

So last Thursday my friend and I decided to meet up and have dinner together as we hadn’t seen each other for a while. She suggested Icehouse as she heard it was good from her friends.

So we met there on this cold day. I was freezing and wanted to get in as quickly as possible but was told by the waitress to wait outside. I was obviously unhappy about that, wondering why I’m not allowed to wait inside. She didn’t explain the reason (although we figured it out later), and rushed us to order drinks. She said there was no menu and quickly ran off the list and told us we could sit outside on the patio. Luckily for us, the patio had heat lamps.

I ordered the Bourbon Lemonade and my friend ordered a fresh watermelon juice with cream soda and rum.

2013-10-24 19.46.45
Bourbon Lemonade

The drinks came and about half an hour later after we caught up with the most recent events in our lives, we were seated at the bar inside. The place is extremely small. It housed 7 tables and a bar. The kitchen is literally right beside you and it was a very cozy restaurant.

We decided we wanted to share the meal so we could get more out of it and not be so overwhelmed by one specific taste or flavour.

2013-10-24 20.09.19
1/2 bucket of ribs with Potato Salad and Coleslaw

We ordered the half bucket of ribs which come with coleslaw and potato salad. When she came with the bucket, she dumped it on the table, hence the long piece of recycled paper on our table. Apparently this is how you eat their buckets of fried chicken or ribs. The ribs were incredibly tender, and just fell off the bone. The flavour wasn’t too strong, retaining the rib flavour which I absolutely loved. Too often do restaurants douse ribs in bbq sauce (which already isn’t a flavour I like). They definitely did a good job with the ribs in my opinion. The coleslaw was quite good and I love that they kept the potato skins on the small potatoes in the salad. I did think that they over did it with the sauce in the potato salad though.

2013-10-24 20.09.25
Lobster Burrito

Next, we ordered the lobster burrito to share. It came in two big pieces and we each had one. There were huge lobster chunks in it, along with black beans, corn and other scrumptious veggies. Although this should have been a good dish, my dislike for burritos definitely took over. I don’t like the taste of burritos and this was one oily burrito! The only redeeming quality was that it had lobster in it. It was a little spicy (which my friend thought was a little much). It was quite fragrant and looked good but I didn’t enjoy it as much as I thought I would.

They do feature a “hot sauce bar” but we didn’t help ourselves to it as it was really quite cramped and getting out was a feat in and of itself. Furthermore we were quite content with the flavours of the dishes.

2013-10-24 21.18.00
The carnage

I thought the service was slow. Althoguh it was very relaxed, they were a little careless. I actually think one of the waiters was drunk. When I was paying (which we stood waiting for over 10 minutes and contemplated just walking out), he seemed quite drunk. The price was okay, although I did end up paying $37. There is also a TV on which they play any games that were on that evening (we watched the hockey game).

2013-10-24 21.32.28

Service: 2/5
Food: 7.5/10
Atmosphere: cozy, grungy, manly
Price: $30-40

Icehouse on Urbanspoon

~ kehwon

Leave a Reply

