Montreal Food Trucks

So of course, since the food trucks are legally allowed back on the streets of Montreal, I had to go visit them. Around the time that I learned of this information was when tfung was coming to visit me while I was doing my internship in the summer.

We had decided that one of the mornings, we would dedicate to food trucks. The food trucks go pretty much all day from 11:30 to 6pm, and they move around to different locations. It’s actually really fun and exciting if you rent a bike (or use your own) to go around each of them and get a small sample.

That’s exactly what we did.

The first place we hit was by the port near Lachine, west of old port. We had biked down there on a beautiful day, but I was in fact wearing a skirt. Poor planning on my part.

The food truck was called le Quai Roulant. We quickly ordered and there was only one thing on the menu that we wanted to try. The crab cakes. So we ordered two crab cakes and a Blood Orange Iced Tea.

2013-07-06 12.57.02
Crab Cake + Blood Orange Iced Tea, le Quai Roulant

2013-07-06 12.59.14

The crab cake was full of juicy crab meat (whole pieces) and had good seasoning in it. It was just the right amount of saltiness, and the batter was done quite well. It doesn’t look like the batter was done right but it definitely had that crispy crunchiness that I look for in a crab cake. Overall I thought they were excellent.

The iced tea was mediocre, and I thought it was a little expensive ($3) to randomly buy it. But it was a nice day and iced tea just seemed right. It was nice because we were able to sit at some benches close by, and the view was either the richer, or cyclists on a Saturday morning.

2013-07-06 13.52.06
tfung resting at Square Victoria

Biking up to the next location, we didn’t end up getting any food. We were just too thirsty and opted for a large Lavender Lemonade from Lucky’s food truck. It was good, but a little too strong-flavoured for what I was looking for at the time: an ice cold thirst quenching drink. It should be a good thing that it was not watered down, there was good lemon taste but the lavender really shone through and was the star. It wasn’t too sweet or too sour. I just wished there was more of it.

Fast forward to September, I came back to Montreal for school. We were sent emails that food trucks were coming to both Macdonald campus and Downtown campus of McGill. We were all pretty excited that they would come all the way to Macdonald campus!

After running a bunch of errands one Tuesday morning, I was met with the site of Roux.

2013-09-10 11.11.22
Roux

As I looked through the menu, I felt like I wanted everything. But in the end, I went with the Club Canard. My friend ordered the Poutine Pulled Pork which is actually a wrap.

2013-09-10 11.11.14
Menu
2013-09-10 11.17.17
Club Canard: braised duck, chorizo, salad, tomato, swiss cheese, mayonnaise chipotle

The club sandwich came with spicy fries. Although the duck was absolutely delicious, for me the fries won my heart. The seasoning was done to a perfection in which it was sweet, salty and spicy all at the same time. The cajun pepper they used was absolutely amazing. It was not too soft or too crunch (I hate crunchy fries!), and I couldn’t get enough. I even contemplated Β going back to just get an order of fries, but I thought that would’ve been too much and I would get food coma during class. The club sandwich was also very yummy. The duck was juicy, tender and full of flavour. You could taste every ingredient, but they all worked well in the mouth together. It is always such a shame when you have amazing ingredients, but together they overpower or work against each other. It was not ht case in this sandwich. I was not a huge fan of the chipotle as it had what I call the “armpit taste” (term coined by my mother). I suspect this is due to some cumin in the chipotle, but even though I don’t like the taste, it worked well with the sandwich.

2013-09-10 11.08.51
Poutine Pulled Pork

My friend had the Pulled Pork Wrap. She said it was also very good, and you can read about it here.

A couple days later, after class, I saw the Phoenix 1 food truck really close by at school. I decided to just buy lunch as I was pretty hungry.

2013-09-19 12.12.31

2013-09-19 12.15.13

I ordered the Pulled Pork on Naan bread. It was pretty good, the pork had good flavour, was tender and juicy and the sour purple cabbage made it less filling. The naan bread was warm and a little moist on the inside. The naan bread was also lined with a piece of swiss cheese on the inside, which made for a very interesting texture. I had learned that the cheese is to provide a moisture barrier so that the bread doesn’t become soggy ,and it had worked very well in this wrap. I thought overall the wrap was a great lunch, and was very satisfied when I got home.

Finally, the awaited Camion PDC. tfung and I had visited Au Pied de Cochon two summers ago when we first came to Montreal to find a place for me to live. I had signed that day and treated him to the delicious dinner. (post will be up shortly).

I ventured over to Rene Levesque and Peel today after class as I knew from twitter they were there from 11:30 to 10pm. I suspect it was because of the hockey game that was going on tonight.

2013-10-01 18.14.18 2013-10-01 18.15.02 2013-10-01 18.15.30

I just got the foie gras poutine. I had contemplated getting the Boite Gourmand #2, but when I asked the girl how big it was, she told me that she cannot finish it and it’s more for two people. So I just went for the poutine. The poutine sauce was mixed in the the fatty liver, and was absolutely delicious (I felt so guilty eating this). The Foie Gras was very soft and slippery, which may turn off some people but I thought it was really good. The cheese curds were squeaky and chewy, love it. Definitely thought it was a good buy, and I want to try some of their donuts as well!

So that’s it for the food trucks I’ve tried. I may have more and I will add to the post, but other than that, food trucks are definitely something I recommend. They run until November 3rd, so head over to one of the spots when you are free!

~ kehwon

Leave a Reply

