(San Fran Trip) Ferry Building Market – Fisherman’s Wharf

So after the tea garden, we headed over to the Ferry Building Market. My friend who had just been to SF a couple months before us had recommended it but to be honest I wasn’t that excited for it yet. However when we arrived at our station and got out to ground level, I thought the view was gorgeous. We walked through some merchants that had booths outside, across the street from the FBM. This was actually where I picked up a flattened wine bottle for my dad, which serves now as our cheese plate.

We walk into the FBM and there were just so many artisan shops! I had no idea it was going to be something like this and was so excited immediately. We tried to walk around first to see what we wanted to eat but honestly I was already starving.

2013-07-26 12.33.49 2013-07-26 12.34.52

We settled for some raw oysters as I had really been looking forward to this. The shop that we stopped at was the San Francisco Fish Company. We picked the Royal Miyagi (the smaller ones) and the Blue Point oysters. I have to say the Royal Miyagi were one of the better oysters I’ve ever had. Regardless, both oysters were really delicious. Apparently I had put too much horseradish on tfung’s oysters and he definitely ended up tearing up :P.

We moved on and decided we’d just get lunch at the fisherman’s wharff after we were done exploring the FBM. So we just grabbed another snack here:

2013-07-26 12.52.11

We got the salted pig from baccalone. We actually got the mixed salumi cone, which came with Β 4 different types of meats. We had capocollo, orange and fennel salame. It wasn’t that good, but was a good experience. It was nice to try some cured meats and tfung really loved it. I myself was not a huge fan. We actually came back a second time and we had the Custom Salami Cone, and picked the three most expensive ones, including the Prosciutto Cotto. I still think that it wasn’t worth the rave.

We had come back on the last day of our trip since we had a 4pm flight and decided it would be better to grab lunch here first. We visited some new places at the market:

2013-07-29 13.11.42

2013-07-29 13.29.57

First we went to the Pressed Juicery. I had actually looked this up before coming to San Fran, but found out that it was kind of far from where we were going around. It was also not really a restaurant so we wouldn’t be investing a lot of time there and therefore was not worth the trip. However during our second trip to FMB, we saw that this place was open as a small booth with fridges that they store all the juices. They were very generous with samples for us to try before we made a purchase. I believe each bottle was somewhere around $5 or $6, which is definitely cheaper than the fresh juices I usually get in Canada.

We tried Greens and Citrus. I’m a huge grapefruit lover and so the Citrus 3 was an obvious choice. We also wanted to be a little healthier since we were on this crazy unhealthy food trip, and decided that greens 3 tasted the best. They were very fresh and raw tasting, so if you don’t like that then I’d stay away from these. There was a little bit of residue in both, which was actually a little too gritty for my liking. I don’t mind bits of the fruits or veggies in the juice but when they’re all churned down into very very tiny particles it’s just a little unnatural.

2013-07-29 13.30.42

We also visited the Cowgirl Creamery, as tfung loves cheese. We had a long look and decided that we’d get a small serving of mac and cheese.

2013-07-29 13.31.55 2013-07-29 13.35.20

The serving of mac and cheese ended up to be a lot more filling than we imagined. It was a penne sort of pasta as opposed to macaroni, and the cheese was much more real tasting. To be honest it wasn’t a very strong cheese, but I just like my mac and cheese by Kraft….I know I’m a weirdo but I’m just so used to it! Tfung loved this and said it was probably one of the better mac and cheese he had.

2013-07-29 13.49.42

Of course, we had to visit Blue Bottle Coffee, but there was a line up. It was a little too long for my liking, but we lined up anyway.

2013-07-29 13.56.28

I tried to capture the individual coffee drips in action but was unsuccessful. She had taken all the orders away before I could get into position in line to snap the picture. But if you can see, each different type and blend of coffee is dripped through those cups and those paper filters, down into the serving cups. Pretty cute!

2013-07-29 13.59.28

As a latte lover, I of course ordered the Latte. It was rich and creamy, with a little of the acidic/sour taste to it. I did enjoy the latte but didn’t think it was extraordinary from the ones I’m used to. To give some perspective, I live in Montreal, home of many hipster and cute cafe shops. They do a lot of artisan espresso drinks, so I’m quite used to higher quality lattes. As a result I thought this was good, but not amaaaazing. So It’s probably pretty damn good.

This was a longer but much needed post. I loved this place and I wish that Distillery was just as good, but sadly it’s not. If I lived in San Fran, this would be the place to go on a weekend with tfung! I highly recommend coming here if you ever do visit San Fran, even though you may think it’s a very touristy spot.

~ kehwon

Leave a Reply

