Quartier Général – Plateau Mont-Royal

As we started to get to know each other better, one of my very good foodie friends in Montreal suggested that I come to this restaurant. She had said all her friends came back with positive reviews, and I knew she and I had similar standards for food. So I took her up on this recommendation and decided to come here with tfung. I made reservations for 2 on a Saturday about two weeks in advance with no problem with timing.

The restaurant seats about 40, and has this metalic linoleum ceiling. The kitchen is semi-open and there is also a bar. We were seated right away, and I noticed they had an advanced reservation/seating computer program with very nice interface.

When we were seated, the waiter asked if we brought any wines. Apparently this place is porter vin, allowing customers to bring their own wines. The reason is because they do not supply any wines themselves. I think this is great because my parents are the type who like to bring a very specific type of wine to a restaurant because my dad is a wine enthusiast. It’s also great because it’s then much cheaper for us to enjoy the wine.

Unfortunately we didn’t know this so we just went without alcohol for the night.

We weren’t supplied with any menus because the full menu is on the chalkboard above the bar. Everything is in french, but if you have a smartphone it’s not much of a problem. Also the waitress will come and tell you most of the menu when she comes to introduce herself.

We decided to get the Table d’hôte for $12 on top of the price of the main dish. It comes with a soup or salad, an appetizer and of course the main.

2013-07-06 18.44.38

We started with the octopus appetizer (Tarte Fine à la pieuvre). It was quite delicious and fresh with the herbs. I quite enjoyed it. I did think it was a bit small but it’s meant for one.

2013-07-06 18.54.28

We waited a little while and the waitress came by to give us our knives. It was the cutest and most hipster knife I’ve seen at a restaurant so far. I loved it and wanted to take it home!

tfung ordered the veal (Côte de veau de la Plaine). He thought it was very good, and done to his liking (medium rare). We both loved the presentation, the sauce and the combination.

2013-07-06 18.58.38

2013-07-06 18.59.06

I ordered the duck (Canard de Marieville). It was really really good. It came with grapes and other veggies, potato purée, with a rich sauce. The duck was very tender but still had proper texture. Every bite along with the grapes and the purée was amazing. I savoured every bite of this.

We were both quite full, but since we did have dessert, we did get the crème brulée. It was a pretty big portion and we couldn’t finish. Nothing extraordinary, but I did enjoy the whole of it

2013-07-06 19.28.05

Overall I really enjoyed the whole experience. I love that two sides of the restaurant was full windows, allowing for lots of light (great for taking pics on our phones!). It was quite loud though, as it was just one room with quite a lot of people in it. But we still really enjoyed it and it’d be a great dinner date with couples or friends. I saw some families there as well who were there to enjoy their wines along with the amazing dinners.

The service was good, although I thought it was a little slow. However they were very attentive, smart and understanding. They seem to have been working at a restaurant for a while, and know what customers want without excessive explanations.

I definitely recommend this place and I will definitely come back in the future (with some wine!). It is a little out of the way if you don’t own a car, but definitely worth the trip!

Service: 4/5
Food: 8.3/10
Atmosphere: spacious, chatty
Price: $20-40

Le Quartier Général on Urbanspoon

~ kehwon

Leave a Reply

