Table 17 – Leslieville (Queen East)

I found this place as my friends and I were trying to decide where to meet up on a Sunday. The answer was obvious: brunch! We all love brunches, and this place has got to be one of the most relaxing places I’ve been to so far. The reason being: no line up! Also there’s lots of free parking on a Sunday at Queen East. It’s just so easy, without the stress of waiting and finding parking.

The restaurant has a very english country style. The patrons who eat there seem to be very relaxed and the atmosphere isn’t stuffy at all. Definitely a place I’d go if I want a chill brunch day.

2013-08-25 12.20.25

Because I liked it so much, I ended up going a second time. This time I ordered the Neapolitan Eggs. The eggs were done well, but the best part of the dish were the amazingly flavourful tomato base that was used. This was a good dish, but not everyone may like tomatoes.

2013-08-25 12.20.36

I’m a sucker for scrambled eggs. Ever since having the best scrambled eggs of my entire existence at Australian Dairy Company (Jordan, HK), I always want to try scrambled eggs to see if anything will top that. It hasn’t.

These eggs were quite good, but still nothing compared to ADC. I really do love that they had salad with every dish, just to make myself feel a little less guilty.

2013-08-25 12.20.48

Today’s star was actually the quiche. It featured spinach, potatoes and truffle oil. The truffle oil was not overdone as it so often is, so that you could taste the flavours of the ingredients in the quiche. However, it still does not compare to the best quiche I’ve ever had (Duchess, Edmonton).

The service both times were quite good. The first time I was here, the waiter was very friendly and liked to joke around with us. However, the hostess that led me to my table had done a poor job as she led me to one that had not been cleaned yet. When I was here today, the service was nothing special to mark.

Overall I didn’t think this restaurant was all that special, but I did love the combination of the hassle-free feeling as well as its price.

Service: 4/5

Food: 7.7/10
Atmosphere: relaxed, english country
Price: $10-15

Table 17 on Urbanspoon

~ kehwon

One thought on “Table 17 – Leslieville (Queen East)

Leave a Reply

