Brassaii – King West

2013-06-21 18.17.28 I went here with my friends for my birthday. I arrived with one of my friends as we met up downtown and got there together. They seated us at the lounge while we waited for the rest of our party. They would not seat us until our whole party was there. I found this nice at first, but annoying later when we were just waiting for one more person.

Since it was my birthday I decided to order a cocktail. I got the pimms drink with mint. It was pretty stiff and sweet. Typical.

2013-06-21 19.40.48I got the halibut with snow peas and chanterelle mushrooms. It was pretty delicious and I loved the presentation. I also ordered a side of roasted beats. It was honey-glazed and was yellow-coloured. Was not that flavourful other than the taste of the honey. I didn’t think it was really worth $8.

2013-06-21 19.40.03

My friend ordered the lamb with fava beans, smoked mushroom, heirloom potatoes and eggplant.

2013-06-21 19.40.17

Honey-glazed duck breast with sweet potato purée, treviso, root vegetable and blueberries.

2013-06-21 19.40.08

Steak Tartare

Overall I thought the place was too pricey for its food. It’s not that it tastes bad, but nothing too extraordinary. I do love the presentation and the atmosphere and decor of the place. It definitely is what attracts so many different kinds of people to the spot. The only thing I have to complain about is that as usual, we were treated like university kids who cannot spend the money. It’s all very frustrating when I’m treated like that. Yes, I am in university, and yes I’m not rich. However if you give me good service, I will tip you generously. It was just very condescending and I didn’t enjoy that for my birthday at all.

The place gets turned into a club after a certain hour, but their lounge is okay nice. The building is sinked in behind other big buildings so the patio is not directly at the street where all the pollution and honking is. It really is quite nice but we did opt for sitting inside as a lot of my friends had seasonal allergies.

Service: 3/5
Food: 7.5/10
Atmosphere: trendy
Price: $25-40

Brassaii- Cafe- Restaurant- Lounge on Urbanspoon

~ kehwon

Leave a Reply

