Michi Cafe – Scarborough

2013-06-18 12.55.08 I was very excited to come to Michi Cafe. The very first time was a failed attempt. My cousin from HK used to study at U of Toronto. She told me that one of her favourite spots after class was Michi. However when we arrived, they were closed. They are closed on mondays!

So finally we got here and my cousin’s brother had advised us to eat the Café au lait chirashi sushi. So we did. And it was amazing. The sashimi was very fresh, and I loved all of it (of course it’s not the same as Tsukiji Market in Japan). But what surprised me the most was the eel rice underneath! It was so delicious. I generally didn’t like chirashi because I always thought the rice underneath was so boring and bland. But they completely erradicated the only thing I didn’t like about chirashi. A delicious dish at a hefty price though: $40 before tax! Even so, we just shared this.

2013-06-18 13.24.45For dessert, we ordered two cakes: Green Tea Red Bean and Earl Grey cake. They were both quite delicious, although I’m not a huge fan of the red bean so I leaned towards the earl grey cake more. Both had good flavours of the green tea and earl grey. The earl grey was especially fragrant, but I would have liked it more if it had less whipped cream on it.

2013-06-18 13.24.52
2013-06-28 12.43.11

On another occasion, I went back with my friend and we shared the Karaage instead. There was this fried chicken with spicy mayo (karaage) on the top level, a dish of sashimi right underneath, and finally eel don (rice) on the very bottom. I didn’t think the karaage was that great. I am generally a very picky person when it comes to fried foods and the batter used. However, I loved the combination that you get a little of everything.

For Dessert, we shared the green tea crème brulée. It was pretty good, had okay green tea flavour. Nothing too extraordinary.

2013-06-28 13.23.10

The service is quite good, they are fairly attentive and manage any changes very easily. One the second visit, she had mistook my order for tea when I ordered coffee, but had brought me a new coffee quickly and politely. The place only seats about 15-20 people, so it would be advised to go a little earlier or later than peak hours.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this place, especially the chirashi if you can dish out the cash!

Service: 4.5/5
Food: 8.3/10
Atmosphere: quiet, cute
Price: $20-45 (If you get the chirashi)

Le Cafe Michi on Urbanspoon

~ kehwon

Leave a Reply

